Mercedes A-Class Forum banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,

I am a completely newbie, so please be gentle! ;)

I am waiting on delivery of my A 220D AMG Line, with premium plus pack - I remember definitely adding the advanced navigation package when I ordered, but I think I may have missed the driver assistance package - Does anyone know if there is an option to have this functionality retro-fitted please? I am imagining that it relies upon cameras etc, so is more complex than a simple software update at the dealership, but am clinging to the hope that my spec or even the base model includes the hardware necessary..?

Any help much appreciated!

Many thanks!

·
Registered
528 Posts
Are we talking about the lane-departure system, the blind-spot assist or the semi-autonomous driving?
Cause for the lane-departure system you need a camera placed on the windshield. And if you don't have it, then in the worse case you have to replace the whole windshield..

Blind-spot assist, requires the new side-mirrors and additional camera'. Unless you already have for example 360o camera.

For semi-autonomous driving, I really don't know. But you would need steering wheel sensors, to detect the hands and much more.

I only know some about the lane and blindspot because its almost the same as previous models.

·
Registered
90 Posts
Worth asking MB or your dealer, but I doubt it very much. For example, I think the driving assistance package includes the blind spot warning which would mean a change of wing mirrors at the very least. And as you say there are probably additional cameras and/or sensors required for the lane changing stuff.

·
Registered
5,464 Posts
I would doubt it very much tbh however if you havent got it or indeed cant retro fit it I wouldnt beat yourself up about it!!! its not a game changer in spec and imo i wouldnt even tick that box when spec'ing a car up

·
Registered
1,195 Posts